TO LOVE A BROKEN THING

images (3)~2.jpegWhat is it about pain that is so fatally attractive? What is about the dashing troubled, the eccentric misfits (whose eccentricities only shield a deep underlying pain); what is it about the wounded souls that we just can’t resist?

Have you ever loved a broken person? I don’t mean the rascally or the unadulteratedly wicked; I don’t mean the ones who are troubled by their own choosing, and hurt others because they can.  I mean the broken things; the souls that have seen the brunt of life, the ones that sheath their pains and try to rise above it, the ones that always, except by some miracle, fall into their darkness no matter how they try – as we who have loved them have found. What is it about them?

I have tried to understand. But even my experience with this phenomenon has not helped me to reach any cogent conclusion.

I remember that someone once told me that I have no pain in my eyes, in a way that suggested that it made me less attractive; at the time, I did not understand. I still remember, that someone else later told me (after certain incidents that she did not know about) that I have a sadness that lingers in my eyes, in a way that suggested that it made me attractive. I remember, that I too have loved a person, that I know was broken at the time – and I realise now that their pain was what helped me to truly love them. And I have seen pain, con a person into falling so deeply in love with another, and yet, I still don’t understand. By my experiences, I can say I have flirted with this concept practically and from both sides, and yet, I cannot seem to understand it.

images

What I have found however, is that there might be a mechanism in the human mind that makes pain, sadness, darkness (anything that looks like it) so attractive to us. It is perhaps, a mechanism similar to compassion, but something different. Because it can’t be compassion; compassion does not have the depth to drive such attraction. Or does it?  Speaking of depth, perhaps it has something to do with the depth that we somehow feel exists in their souls; because pain has a way of creating such depth or an illusion of it at least. There is something so touching, so enthralling, so deep about the fact that these persons are not merely ordinary, but possess a ‘sublime’ touch with life, due to their experiences.

So, is it this depth? Or is it instinct? I remember someone once told me that men have a natural instinct to protect and women have a natural instinct to repair. So, now I am wondering, perhaps it is a glitch in this wiring; perhaps this natural encoding drives us to be attracted to the broken. Maybe it is the purgation that comes with realizing how much they suffer and the consequent instinct to protect or repair them, respectively. But is that it? Is that why pain is so attractive? Because there is something in us that drives us by instinct to try to remove it from others?

Or is it something else? Is it a need to identify?  I have found that we sometimes find love, where we find demons like our own; in the disturbed places, in the troubled souls, in the mosaic of buried scars, in the eyes of people who have tasted the brunt of life, like we have. It is just like how they say ‘deep calls unto deep’; pain, it would seem, calls unto pain. Are we all victims of this paradox? And it is in fact a paradox, because love should seek to complete itself, to find the things that it does not possess. But does love merely seek to find itself? Even so, we are not all broken, so I can’t say for sure that it is the need to identify that drives this phenomenon.

I still haven’t found my answer yet; maybe I never will. These things are elusive like this, but maybe that is not so bad. Maybe the fun is in trying to understand; maybe the thrill is in the journey itself. And In my journey, I have so far found out that for some reason, the broken people are the most beautiful; or seem to be the most beautiful. There is something disarming about the broken, the struggling, the hurt, something about these people whose eyes show glimpses of some storm, some war inside, that makes them extraordinarily beautiful. Yet, beauty comes at a price. I have found that loving them, comes with a repercussion; and that fatal attraction, that overwhelming drive to save often blinds us so we do not see these risks. Because loving a broken person can break you and will almost certainly break you. Because in those moments when they relapse into their darkness, nothing can save you.

images (1)

Also, I have also found that in some rare occasions, when we eventually succeed in nursing them back into health, we are allowed a taste of infinity; even for a second.

__________________________________________________

PS: I use the word ‘broken’ inclusively. I realise that not all suffering or pained people are broken per se.

So, tell me reader, what is your experience with this? Do you think pain attracts? Why does it?

Please, share your thoughts.

17 thoughts on “TO LOVE A BROKEN THING”

  1. The essence of life is the chase for survival. The beauty in love is the continuous application to the citadel of perfection; one that will almost never accept our greedy desire to sleep without turmoil. If I think of the struggle to paint a portrait of ‘brokenness’ in my heart, I cannot help but reckon back the shattered pieces; the ones that can Pierce you as soon as you begin to enjoy picking the needles out of grape fruits. It is almost impossible to spray perfume on me without the clinching aroma cleaving on your thumb, index and what’s not. You have greatly portrayed man in his craziest state. It is more crazy because we see these cuts that will come and still forge guts the more.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. people love the unusual, it has this attractive force. same way most girls love “bad boys”. So it’s no surprise that some may be find broken people alluring, and wanna embark on that “fixing” mission, they wanna be messiahs, it comes with a certain thrill. But what happens when the high dies down? when you start to get the whole baggage that comes with that brokenness and get cut by the broken pieces? na there wahala dey enter. they run away and start looking for the next broken thing to fix. lol. as for me, I like to keep things simple. Fixing broken things is for God and therapists, not for me. lol
    good write-up bro.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Suppose this is the most beautiful thing about my reading this today. Some hours ago, I was talking with someone with whom it appears i’m nearly trespassing the fiery edges of love once more. I said (as a friend once told me), “With people like us, forget about opposites attracting. Like can only attract like with us.” This is a fine oddity, is it not? The most profound lines from your piece that echoe back my own words today are, “And it is in fact a paradox, because love should seek to complete itself, to find the things that it does not possess. But does love merely seek to find itself?”.

      But I’ve found my own answer to this conundrum. I think i might simply be incapable of loving a person who cannot identify, in some way, with my pain. The reason is because the love begins the moment you have SEEN my pain. Love that only sees the light, never the darkness, that’s a love under siege. It is automatically insecure. Think of it this way…if I tell you my deepest, darkest secret, I would want you to cede me your deepest, darkest secret in return. Then we can be safe in our tiny little cocoon created by the trust we found in mutual darkness. The darkness that forced us to blindly take each other’s hand and feel our way through life and love. But if I tell you my horrible secret and you turn out to be a perfect little dove, never having been tainted by the rainbow colours of sin, where does my security lie? I am exposed, bare; yet you remain untainted, free to walk away at any time. Untettered, unbound.

      I cannot tell what might possess a perfect little dove to be so fatally attracted to a raven. But the magnet that beckons one broken thing to the other, that love that never seeks to complete itself but rather, to find itself, THAT I have found the true reason for. A beautiful piece Vincent.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Wow! This, this is an amazing comment. I could not agree more. In fact, I think, further to your statement, that pain or darkness in itself may be exciting, to someone who has know it themselves. Like, it’s perhaps the case that it is perceived that the dark experience gives the person access to some unorthodox plane, in which they can understand you. It is not neccesarily about the fact that the absence of pain or such darkness (as the case may be) in the person may make the person less attractive simply because of the fact, but rather, that the presence of it makes it easier to be able to share your reality with them.

        Like

    2. Lol. That’s another angle to look at it from. Loving the broken because of the thrill of the unusual. Makes some sense.
      Also, you’ll have to pray not to fall in love with a broken person. You’ll find out that in that moment, you become both God and therapist.

      Like

  3. The beauty of this work lies in the indefinite conclusions, it admits the possibility of otherwise.
    Loving a broken thing is hardly ever our choice, in fact, we are often not sedated to loving such by their pain. No one falls in love because a person is broken. Nah, at the risk of being ridiculous, I think we are often tricked by first, the goodness and beauty of the vase that we do not see the cracks around and when we do, we are helpless already and so we can’t do much than love the broken thing.
    Ultimately, loving a broken thing is the true definition of what Love is for me. I believe that’s where the Love starts from. Bonds are not made in rising tides of prosperity but in raging storms. Loving me at my best, is not magic but would you love me at my worse ?

    Like you rightly put, sometimes we find Love in the places where our demons lie.

    Nice one Vincent,

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Fantastic perspective Martins! It makes sense too. Maybe it is not the pain that attracts , but the beautiful appearance that pain tends to gift people with; be it an appearance of depth or sophisticatedness.

      Like

  4. I don’t want to say this is a good write up. That would most overbearingly lay much emphasis on ordinary aesthetics which goes without saying here, in the sense that perhaps other aspects of the work are much deserving of the deliberation.

    It’s more an outpour than a write up. It is lacking that artistic deliberateness and that is its beauty. You went on and on with the inconclusiveness of these concepts and it is most intriguing.

    I felt the pain in every sentence and while I understood the message, I slipped back into the unending lack of understanding of the intrinsic characteristics of these concepts and as always, I settled in the reprieve that elusiveness is in itself an attraction. The beauty of this absence is that it is indeed the strongest form of presence.

    Nice one, Vincent.

    Like

  5. Yes, generally, pain attracts. Somehow, we are wired to believe (and in many cases, it’s true) that the more pain you’ve seen; the more experiences and touch on life you have… The more mature you are… The more you can understand… the more you can give… empathize with others… and also, the more help you need. Those who have been there also feel more need to step in… to help. This instinct may be biological but I think it spawns more from the feeling of pain we share; we have experienced… as humans.

    That said, I want to disagree with the recent popular love for labelling people with the term “broken”. It seems to flow from the above, pinning a certain level of beauty, like the writer hinted to sadness and pain despite the ugliness of the word itself… “Broken”. I believe it only relates to extremes… That point where there is hardly any return from. A now comfortable comfortless state of being. I think the term should be used sparingly. These days, it’s employed to refer to the faults in people. Their inadequacies. That I think, is wrong. People can be scarred, hurt, burnt but not broken. When you’re broken… you’re gone. Finished. Like a dictionary defined it in relation to humans… “Completely defeated and dispirited; shattered; destroyed”.

    As always, your writes worth it, brother.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah. I agree with you Caleb. The word broken, in its actual usage, implies something deeper. That is why I added the caveat under. I use the word “colloquially.” In a more modern, in a more fleeting sense.

      As to your opinion on pain, do you agree that pain actually gives depth?

      Like

      1. If I get you correctly, it does. The sources of the purest of emotions almost always give depth via the manifestations of the emotions they birth… In art, actions… Etc.

        Like

  6. Hmmmm. Until now, I have not taken my mind to relate with what it truly feels for, and about- the broken. I just realized that a reasonable part of all the solid attractions I’ve had all emanated from pity and the need to repair the damage caused by what I don’t know. Truly Vincent, pain attracts. Pain exposes us to vulnerability. At that state, we are weak, and so are they. When we end up repairing or at least attempting to, we become the new victims. For me, that is the irony of life: a very funny paradox. You opened me up. Thanks for that!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading ol sport. I agree with you, to some extent. But, do we always become victims? I think not. I think, sometimes we win. Not enough though, but we win sometimes.

      Like

  7. Lost in thoughts, I summed up this insightful piece of yours in a song, and sang my heart out to a broken thing. Like magic; remnants of her heart previously in dust like particles, fell into place almost immediately. Here’s what ensued next…

    Miss James: How did you do it?
    Me: “The Meddley”
    Miss James: Again?

    I hardly chase broken things, unless I’m inspired by Hadley Chase (Vincent). Your write ups give life, even to cats. Keep doing what you do best bro and thank you for saving Miss James.

    🚶🏻‍♂️.

    Like

  8. I remember a very warm voice telling me that I cannot be his friend because he fears that I will destroy his Life.
    I heard the other words he was so scared of saying because somehow he thought that not saying it will make what he has already started feeling nonexistent.

    The truth is, loving a broken person does not have anything to do with instincts. It is one of life’s turbulent concepts; the kind that we cannot control because we somehow do not have a firm realization of when that need to seek to complete ourselves began brewing in us.

    Pain attracts,well thanks to my personal statistics of “all the boys I have ever loved”.

    The same way I want to kiss a smart lips whose mind is intelligently crafted is the same urge I have to hold that Eyes that have very deep stories rooted in them and have them listen to me saying: “I SEE YOU”.

    Perhaps those are the words we are looking for and it takes another who has been sharpened deeply by life in all its emotions to give us that satisfaction.

    Perhaps that is why we seek love in that place that we recognize, because it is true, because it challenges us as much as it completes us, it scares us as much as it makes us feel safe, it listens and holds our fragile form as much as we just want to hide away forever and it turns us off as much as it arouses us.

    This thing called Love, this thing called being broken is somehow a love that breaks away from the shell of a pity fanfare to the slickest of all rides that only those who appreciate Life in its fullness, can get to get on.

    A Note To The Writer
    You are that feeling I have been longing to read all along. Thanks for this overwhelming piece.

    Like

Leave a comment